top of page
  • Writer's pictureTKI


Deadline: 9 December 2022

The DAAD awards funding to Sub-Saharan African students for full-time Master or PhD degrees in their home country or in another Sub-Saharan African country as part of its In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme. The programme promotes the mobility of researchers between Sub-Saharan African countries and capacity building at Sub-Saharan African universities. The programme is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and aims at university staff in the first line, without neglecting the public sector demand of academically trained personnel.

Master and PhD scholarships in this programme are awarded for preselected degree programmes in development-related and SDG-oriented fields at preselected Sub-Saharan African institutions. Scholarships are awarded to Sub-Saharan African students for study and research in their home country (In-Country) or in another Sub-Saharan African country (In-Region).


  • Monthly allowance

  • Study and research allowance

  • Printing allowance

  • Tuition fees

  • Travel allowance

  • Health insurance


The target group for scholarships are graduates and postgraduates from Sub-Saharan Africa with a first academic degree if applying for a Master’s programme, or with a Master’s degree if applying for a doctoral programme who want to pursue Master’s or PhD courses in their home country (so called In-Country scholarships) or in another Sub-Saharan African country (In-Region scholarships).

Female applicants and candidates from less privileged regions or groups are especially encouraged to participate in the programme.


  1. Institute of Statistical Social and Economic Research (ISSER), University of Ghana, Subject field: PhD: Development Studies

  2. West African Center for Crop Improvement (WACCI), University of Ghana, Subject fields: Master Seed Science and Technology

  3. West African Centre for Cell Biology of Infectious Pathogens (WACCBIP), University of Ghana, Subject field: Master: Molecular Cell Biology of Infectious Diseases

  4. Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT), Subject field: Master: Energy Technology

  5. Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT), Subject fields: Master: Soil and Water Engineering, PhD: Soil and Water Engineering

  6. Moi University, Subject field: PhD: Biostatistics

  7. East and South African-German Centre of Excellence for Educational Research Methodologies and Management (CERM-ESA) - Moi University, Subject field: Master: Education in Research

  8. Dedan Kimathi University of Technology (DeKU), Subject field: Master: Food Science and Technology

  9. Pwani University; Subject field: Master: Bioinformatics

  10. Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology (NM-AIST), Subject fields: Master: Embedded and Mobile Systems

Please click on the hyperlink to get information on how to apply.


DAAD In-Country/In-Region Scholarship holders are eligible for exciting funding opportunities in addition to the scholarship they have received for their full-time Master or PhD degree in Sub-Saharan Africa:

  1. Scholarship holders are eligible to apply for a short-term research visit to Germany

  2. Scholarship holders are eligible to apply for one of five interdisciplinary summer schools offered in Germany during their funding period:

    1. University of Frankfurt – Environmental and Remote Sensing Data Analysis via Geospatial Technologies in Research and Teaching (29th August – 7th October 2022)

    2. Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW Hamburg) – Education and Research orientated Training in Health Sciences (1st August – 23rd September 2022 – part-time)

    3. Heidelberg University – Enhancing Academic Qualifications in Teaching and Research in Global Health (15.07.-14.09.2022 – part time)

    4. University of Applied Sciences Cologne (TH Köln) – Climate Change Adaptation: Risk Assessment and Design of Interventions (CC-Adapt) (15th August – 15th September 2022)

    5. University of Leipzig – Innovators, Doers and Entrepreneurs [at] summer school (IDEAS) (Part 1: 27th – 1st July 2022; Part 2: 25th – 29th July 2022; Part 3: 17th – 28th October 2022; Virtual Conference: 9th – 11th November 2022)


Usually, the application procedure follows a two-step process. First, applicants submit their scholarship application to the host institution. After a pre-selection has been conducted, shortlisted applicants will be asked to submit their application again via the DAAD portal for the final selection. Please note that the application procedure may differ between the regions and host institutions. The specific application instructions regarding each host institution are listed in the respective calls for applications.

567 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


DEADLINE: 1 August 2024 The Rhodes Scholarship is a fully funded, full time, postgraduate award which enables talented young people from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. Applying


Beginning from the 2024-2025 academic year, the Ministry of Science and Education of the Republic of Azerbaijan is proud to introduce the “International Education Grant named after Heydar Aliyev”. Thi


bottom of page