top of page
  • Writer's pictureTKI


DEADLINE: 15 March 2022

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for candidates from least developed, low, and lower middle-income Commonwealth countries, for part-time Master’s study by distance learning on selected courses offered by UK universities. These scholarships are funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office. A Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants where required.

The purpose of this scholarship is to contribute to development needs of Commonwealth countries by providing training for skilled and qualified professionals in key development areas.

The intended beneficiaries are high-quality postgraduate students who wish to access training not available in their home countries, who wish or need to remain in their home country while they study, and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.

Please note that the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission does not require any candidates to take an IELTS (English language) test. You should note, however, that, as a further condition of your scholarship, you may be required by your university to provide evidence of a particular level of English language proficiency.


Loughborough University

MSc Water Management for Development

University of Edinburgh

MSc Clinical Education Master of Family Medicine

University of Southampton

MSc Gerontology

Leeds Beckett University

MSc Responsible Tourism Management

University of Edinburgh

MSc International Development (distance learning)

Bangor University

MSc Tropical Forestry MSc Agroforestry and Food Security

University of Manchester

MSc Management and Information Systems: Change and Development

University of St Andrews

PGDip/MSc Sustainable Aquaculture

Open University

MSc Global Development

University of Oxford

MSt International Human Rights Law

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

MSc Global Health

University of Edinburgh

MSc Surgical Sciences ChM General Surgery ChM Trauma & Orthopaedics ChM Urology ChM Vascular and Endovascular Surgery

University of Manchester

Master of Public Health

University of Strathclyde

MSc Prosthetic & Orthotic Rehabilitation Studies MSc Prosthetic Rehabilitation Studies MSc Orthotic Rehabilitation Studies MSc Rehabilitation Studies

London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

MSc Clinical Trials MSc Epidemiology MSc Infectious Diseases MSc Public Health MSc Global Health Policy

University of Edinburgh

Master of Public Health MSc Epidemiology

Cardiff University

MSc Palliative Medicine for Healthcare Professionals

University of Stirling

MSc Dementia Studies

Open University

MSc Environmental Management


You must apply to study an eligible master’s course at a UK university that is participating in the Distance Learning scheme.

You must also apply and secure admission to your university course in addition to applying for a Distance Learning Scholarship. You must check with your chosen university for their specific advice on when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying. You must make your application using the CSC’s online application system, in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your chosen university. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system. You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Distance Learning Scholarship.

Applications must include the following supporting documentation by 17:00 (GMT) on 5 April 2022 in order for your application to be eligible for consideration:

  • At least one reference– submitted directly by the referee to the online application system (referees will be sent an email request)

  • An offer letter to start the chosen course of study in the 2022-2023 academic year – uploaded to the online application system

  • Full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications (with certified translations if not in English) – uploaded to the online application system

Selection Process

Each participating UK University will conduct its own recruitment process to select a specified number of candidates for Distance Learning Scholarships. Universities must put forward their selected candidates to the CSC by 9 May 2022. The CSC will then confirm that these candidates meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme and universities will inform candidates of their results in July 2022.

Selection criteria include:

  • Academic merit of the candidate

  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

Scholar eligibility

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person

  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country

  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.

  • Be unable to afford to study the programme without this scholarship.


417 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page