top of page
  • Writer's pictureTKI



Applications for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for the 2023/24 academic year are now open. The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC) provides the UK government scholarship scheme led by international development objectives.These scholarships are funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for candidates from eligible low and middle income Commonwealth countries, to undertake part-time taught Master’s study with UK universities while remaining in their home countries.

In 2023, 50 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for candidates from least developed, low, and lower middle-income Commonwealth countries, for part-time Master’s study by distance learning on selected courses offered by UK universities. A Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants where required.


Keele University

  • MA Early Childhood Education

  • MA Education

  • MA Education Leadership & Management

  • MA Education Technology

  • MA International Education

Open University

  • MA Online Teaching

  • MSc Global Development

  • MSc Environmental Management

University College London

  • MA Education and International Development

  • MA Education and International Development: Conflict, Emergencies and Peace

  • MA Education, Gender and International Development

  • MA Education, Health Promotion and International Development

  • MA Educational Planning, Economics and International Development

University of Edinburgh

  • Master of Family Medicine

  • MSc International Development (Distance Learning)

  • ChM General Surgery

  • ChM Trauma & Orthopaedics

  • ChM Urology

  • ChM Vascular & Endovascular Surgery

  • MPH Public Health

  • MSc Clinical Management of Pain

  • MSc Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases

  • MSc Critical Care

  • MSc Data Science for Health and Social Care

  • MSc Epidemiology

  • MSc Internal Medicine

  • MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine

  • MSc Surgical Sciences

University of Southampton

  • MSc Gerontology (Distance Learning)

  • MSc Global Ageing and Policy (Distance Learning)

Leeds Beckett University

  • MSc Responsible Tourism Management

University of Warwick

  • MSc Global Central Banking and Financial Regulation

Aberystwyth University

  • MSc AgriFood Innovation

  • MSc BioInnovation

  • MSc Sustainable Efficient Food Production

Bangor University

  • MSc Agroforestry and Food Security

  • MSc Tropical Forestry

Loughborough University

  • MSc Water Engineering for Development

  • MSc Water Management for Development

University of St Andrews

  • MSc Sustainable Aquaculture

University of Strathclyde

  • MSc Hydrogeology

  • MSc Orthotic Rehabilitation Studies

  • MSc Prosthetic & Orthotic Rehabilitation Studies

  • MSc Prosthetic Rehabilitation Studies

  • MSc Rehabilitation Studies

King’s College London

  • MA Global Security Studies

  • MA International Affairs

University of Birmingham

  • MSc International Development (Conflict, Security and Development)

University of Oxford

  • MSc International Human Rights Law

Cardiff University

  • MSc Palliative Medicine for Healthcare Professionals

City, University of London

  • MSc Global Maternal Health

University of Manchester

  • Master of Public Health

  • MPH Public Health

Lancaster University

  • MSc Leadership Practice (Healthcare Service Improvement)

  • MSc Medical Leadership

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

  • MSc Global Health

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

  • MSc Clinical Trials

  • MSc Epidemiology

  • MSc Global Health Policy

  • MSc Infectious Diseases

  • MSc Public Health

Queen Mary, University of London

  • MSc Cancer and Clinical Oncology

  • MSc Cancer and Therapeutics

  • MSc Dental Public Health, Policy and Leadership

  • MSc Emergency and Resuscitation Medicine

  • MSc Endocrinology and Diabetics

  • MSc Gastroenterology

  • MSc Orthopaedic Trauma Science

  • MSc Trauma Sciences (Military and Humanitarian)

  • MSc Trauma Studies

University of Stirling

  • MSc Dementia Studies


To apply for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of or be granted refugee status from an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person

  • Be permanently and continually resident in an eligible Commonwealth country

  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases

  • All candidates must provide at least one reference

  • All candidates must hold an offer to start their chosen course of study in the 2023


Candidates must apply and secure admission to study an approved Master’s course at a participating UK university in addition to applying for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship via the CSC’s online application system.

Candidates can apply for more than one course and to more than one university, however they may only accept one offer of a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship. Note that Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are only for Master’s courses and not for undergraduate or PhD study.

In the application form, candidates will be asked to:

  • List all undergraduate and postgraduate university qualifications obtained

  • List up to 10 publications and prizes

  • Provide details of their employment history and explain how each job is relevant to the programme to be undertaken

  • Provide a statement on the relevance of their previous work experience to the proposed Scholarship

  • List names and positions of two referees who are qualified to comment on both the candidate’s capacity to benefit from the proposed Scholarship in the UK and their ability to deliver development impact afterwards. One referee must be a current employer (if applicable)

  • Provide a Development Impact statement in 4 parts.

1,269 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page