top of page
  • Writer's pictureTKI



Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships are for candidates from low and middle income countries, as classified by the OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC), in the Commonwealth, to conduct research at a university in the UK for 12 months. Applications will be considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate

  • Quality of the research proposal

  • Potential impact on the development of the applicant’s home country

Scholarships are tenable for a 12-month period of study at any approved UK university or higher education institution with which the CSC has a part-funding agreement for a specific programme of research. For the full list, see here:


Each scholarship provides:

  • Approved airfare from the Scholar’s home country to the UK and return at the end of the award (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor the cost of journeys made before the award is confirmed).

  • Approved tuition fees: full fees are covered by agreement between the CSC and the UK university, and Scholars are not liable to pay for any part of the tuition fee.

  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,347 per month, or £1,652 per month for those at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at current levels).

  • Warm clothing allowance, where applicable.

  • Study travel grant towards the cost of study-related travel within the UK or overseas.

  • If a Scholar is widowed, divorced, or a single parent, child allowance of £576.61 per month for the first child, and £143 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16, if their children are living with them at the same address in the UK.

If a Scholar shares that they have a disability, a full assessment of their needs and eligibility for additional financial support will be offered by the CSC.


To apply for this scholarship, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country.

  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country.

  • Be registered for a PhD at a university in an eligible Commonwealth country by the time the scholarship starts in September 2024.

  • Ensure that an institutional or departmental link exists between the home university and proposed UK university. This link must be greater than simply a collaboration between individuals – see section on ‘Tenure and placement’ below for further details. Both supervisors must provide a supporting statement with further details of the link to ensure the application is eligible.

  • Be available to start academic study in the UK in September 2024.

  • By September 2024, hold a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honours standard, or a lower second-class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree).

  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.

  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format.

In the first part applicants should explain how the proposed scholarship relates to:

  1. Development issues at the global, national, and local level.

  2. Development issues connected to the chosen CSC development theme and the wider sector.

The second part should explain how they intend to apply their new skills once the scholarship ends.

The third part should outline what they expect will change in development terms following the Scholarship, including:

  1. The outcomes that they aim to achieve

  2. The timeframe for their implementation

  3. Who the beneficiaries will be

In the fourth part applicants should write about how the impact of their work could be best measured and evidenced.

248 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


DEADLINE: 1 August 2024 The Rhodes Scholarship is a fully funded, full time, postgraduate award which enables talented young people from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. Applying


Beginning from the 2024-2025 academic year, the Ministry of Science and Education of the Republic of Azerbaijan is proud to introduce the “International Education Grant named after Heydar Aliyev”. Thi


bottom of page