top of page
  • Writer's pictureTKI

2022 Standard Bank Chairman’s Scholarship

The Standard Bank Africa Chairman’s Scholarship is designed to provide African graduates with an opportunity to expand their education and invest in themselves through international exposure that will give them a rounded and broader education.

Through the Chairman’s Scholarship, Standard Bank supports people who will be actively involved in building a future for Africa. This scholarship looks for young Africans who are prepared to engage in finding solutions that will be implemented and led by Africans on this continent.

A key skill required from Africa’s future leaders is that of problem solving. The skill of understanding problems and identifying sustainable solutions. Africa needs people who can identify opportunities and convert those opportunities into real life experiences. Ultimately, the kind of skills we aim to impart through the Chairman’s Scholarship are true leadership skills that are fit for developing societies.

The Standard Bank Africa Chairman’s Scholarship is available to graduate students who are and will ordinarily remain resident in one of the African countries in which Standard Bank is present. Prospective candidates must demonstrate an exceptional academic track record and will need to have successfully qualified on their own merit in their application for a one-year Master's programme at either of the following partner university institutions: Oxford, Cambridge and London School of Economics and Political Science. All candidates are to apply directly to the above mentioned universities.

The scholarships will provide the tuition and college fee in full, and a maintenance grant (i.e. living costs incurred in the college such as rental of college accommodation, food taken in college, etc.) commensurate to the national minimum doctoral stipend of the UK Research Councils.

Please be advised that you will be required to apply for your programme of choice as well as funding. Application dates vary for each institution. Please therefore refer to your University of choice for application dates.

A preference will be given to students commencing a course of study in one of the following programmes:

1. University of Oxford

  • MSC programme provided by the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities divisions at the University.

2. London School of Economics and Political Science

  • MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change

  • MSc Public Management and Governance

  • MSc Finance

  • MSc Risk and Finance

  • MSc Finance and Private Equity

  • MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

  • MSc Law and Accounting

  • MSc Economics and Management

  • MSc Management Information Systems and Digital Innovation

  • MSc Management and Strategy

  • MSc Financial Mathematics

  • MSc Economics and Philosophy

  • MSc Environment and Development

3. University of Cambridge

  • MPhil in Economics

  • Mphil in Education

  • Mphil in Engineering for Sustainable Development

  • Mphil in Finance

  • Mphil in Management


It’s important to note that you’ll be required to apply for your Masters and indicate you require funding. There is no separate application form for the Chairman’s Scholarship. Application dates vary for each institution. Please refer to your university of choice for application dates.

Applications should be channelled directly through each University website, as follows:

If you’re applying for Cambridge, it’s important that you list Magdalene College as your first preference in order to be considered for the Scholarship.

You can contact the application offices of the above universities directly for help in completing the required documentation. All the forms and contact details you need can be found on their respective websites.

1,372 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


DEADLINE: 1 August 2024 The Rhodes Scholarship is a fully funded, full time, postgraduate award which enables talented young people from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. Applying


Beginning from the 2024-2025 academic year, the Ministry of Science and Education of the Republic of Azerbaijan is proud to introduce the “International Education Grant named after Heydar Aliyev”. Thi


bottom of page