top of page
  • Writer's pictureTKI

MMEG Grants South Africa program

Deadline: 14 September 2021

The Margaret McNamara Education Grants (formerly known as MMMF) is a nonprofit, public charity founded in 1981, which awards education grants to exceptional women from developing countries, who are at least 25 years old, and enrolled at universities in the US, Canada and select universities in South Africa and Latin America.

MMEG's mission is to assist women from developing countries who are pursuing their education with the aim of improving the lives of women and children in their countries. MMEG is one of the few organizations that provides financial assistance to such women.


Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Be a self-identifying woman, and at least 25 years old at time of application deadline;

  • Be a national of a country listed on the MMEG Country Eligibility List ;

  • Be enrolled (not just accepted) at an accredited academic institution when submitting application; and plan to be enrolled for a full academic term after award of the grant by the Board;

  • Not be related to a World Bank Group, International Monetary Fund or Inter-American Development Bank staff member or spouse;


Applications for Africa program are from May 15 to September 14 each year. Queries may be addressed to . Results are announced in mid December.

In addition to the above criteria, an applicant must:

  • already be enrolled part time (minimum of 2 courses per semester or term) or full time at one of the universities listed below:

    • University of the Witwatersrand

    • University of Cape Town

    • University of Stellenbosch

    • University of Pretoria

    • University of the Free State

  • be enrolled for at least one more academic term (the term between January to July 2022)

  • Applicants applying from eligible countries other than South Africa must hold a study permit for South Africa.

  • Applicants should be born before September 15, 1996 to be eligible to apply.

Estimated expenses should be calculated and expressed in Rand.

Remember to read the Application Checklist & FAQs before applying and select the "South Africa" in the first question of the application. If the program name does not appear, the program may be closed to new applications.


Apply online for the MMEG Grants South Africa program.

236 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page